Which Celebrity Took the Most Selfies In 2016

When it comes to celebrity selfies, it’s a commonly accepted fact that the Kardashian-Jenners take the most selfies, and that it’d probably be a fight between Kim and Kylie for first place.

Well, believe it or not, that’s not how it went down this year.

Not even close.

While the Kardashians do take a lot of selfies, they don’t take the most selfies, and one sister doesn’t even take enough to crack the top 10.

And the surprises don’t stop there.

Tallying which celebrities take the most selfies revealed a slew of interesting trends.

1. Miley Cyrus – 191

when it starts getting cold means it’s getting closer to my bday

A photo posted by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

2. Kylie Jenner – 190

A photo posted by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on

3. Paris Hilton – 151

#SisterSelfie

A photo posted by Paris Hilton (@parishilton) on

4. Lindsay Lohan – 132

5. Ariana Grande – 93

no i don’t wanna live without love ♡

A photo posted by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on

6. Kourtney Kardashian – 90

Styling Diary: Kendall’s 21st birthday. On my app.

A photo posted by Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash) on

7. Khloe Kardashian

8. Kim Kardashian – 69

Obsessed with the new Kimoji phone case! There’s not many left so get it now on my app or KimKardashianWest.com #KimojiMerch

A photo posted by Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) on

9. Bella Hadid – 46

Had to get my workout in this morning at @gothamgym before happy thanksgiving everyone…❤️

A photo posted by Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) on

10. Hailey Baldin – 34

Mega!

A photo posted by Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin) on

11. Cara Delevingne – 32

I think I’ve blown it

A photo posted by Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne) on

12. Kendall Jenner – 18

weekend

A photo posted by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

13. Gigi Hadid – 14

yesterday

A photo posted by Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid) on

14. Selena Gomez – 9

74 ❤️

A photo posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

15. Drake – 8

⛽️

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

16. Katy Perry – 6

AlivE

A photo posted by KATY PERRY (@katyperry) on

17. Rihanna – 4

caught mumz Insta-lurkin

A photo posted by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

18. Taylor Swift – 2

19. Beyonc̩ РMaybe three, but probably zero*

A photo posted by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

*We all know Bey has herself an Instagram husband, so there’s a good chance that anything that looks like a selfie probably isn’t.

Now yes, this list doesn’t take Snapchat selfies or deleted selfies into account, but it’s still incredibly illuminating.

Here’s what we learned:

Even though Kim Kardashian wrote the book on selfies, she isn’t the queen of selfies.

Or at least she’s not anymore.

Miley Cyrus is, and Kylie’s literally right behind her.

Both Miley and Kylie, whose names just happen to rhyme, took over 182 selfies, which means that on average they posted a selfie every other day.

And even though besides Kendall, the Kardashians do take more selfies on average than most celebs, they’re not the only celebrities plastering their selfies all over the Internet.

The undisputed queens of the late 2000s, Paris Hilton and Lindsay Lohan, were #3 and #4 on the list, and Ariana Grande wasn’t far off at #5.

We also learned that as a rule of thumb, professional models don’t take a lot of selfies.

Bella Hadid, who took the most by far, only racked up 46, and Kendall and Gigi both took less than 20 all year.

But there is one group of celebrities who takes even less selfies: the mega pop stars.

In general, the bigger the pop star you are, the less selfies you take.

Beyoncé, Rihanna, Drake, Katy Perry and Taylor Swift are arguably the biggest and most status-wielding pop stars of the moment, and they took less than 25 selfies combined.

But before you get on your high horse and come to the conclusion that the more you’re famous for something other than being famous, the less selfies you take, we’ll have to politely remind you that talented person Miley Cyrus heads the top of the list and Ariana Grande, who’s maybe the best popular singer since Mariah Carey, is sitting at #5.

Likely, it all boils down to respectability politics.

The more of a globally respected celebrity you are, the less selfies you take.

And honestly, more power to them because the pictures other people take of you almost always turn out way better than the pictures you take of yourself anyway.

Unless you’re Kylie Jenner.

She may edit all the selfies she posts, but you can’t deny, girl does good work.

A photo posted by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on

A photo posted by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on


Gimme More POP


Do You Like?

Some things are only found on Facebook. Don't miss out.